Zurich Lions vs Eagles

NLB Game day: Luzern Eagles vs Zurich Lions

Last Saturday the Zurich Lions received Luzern Eagles for a double header at Heerenschürli Ballpark.
With a perfect cool weather for baseball (25 °C and partially cloudy), the umpire-in-chief Juan Francisco Robles made the call of “play ball”.

In the first inning, Eagles took advantage of the lack of pitching control from Lions. One walk and two hit-by-pitches allowed Eagles to score two runs by fielder’s choice with two grounded outs.
Lions responded in the second inning with back-to-back hits from Benjamin Kessler and Carlos Reyes and aggressive baserunning to score two runs and tied the game.
Nelson Stevens, Lions’ starting pitcher, gained control of his pitches, and allowed only one more run to complete a great start of 4 innings (4.0 IP, 1 H, 3 ER, 4 BB, 1 SO).
Lions took the lead at the bottom of the 4th inning. They scored three runs, starting with two hits by Emmanuel Mirabal and Nelson Stevens and Hit-by-pitch to Markus Streicher. Ramon Rosario grounded out to second and brought Mirabal to home plate. With two outs, Luis Hanel Novas Gil singled to center and Nelson and Markus scored the 4th and 5th runs for Lions.
On the 5th inning, Rafael Sanchez came as reliever for Lions. He allowed only one run in three innings (3.0 IP, 2 H, 0 R, 1 ER, 0 BB, 2 SO) and recorded his first saved game of the season. Lions won 4-5.

The second game was the third KO victory for Lions in this season. This time, the Lions scored 23 runs to knock-out Eagles in 4 innings. Anthony Ventura led the team by having a good start (4.0 IP, 3 H, 3 ER, 1 BB, 6 SO) and wining his 3rd game this season. Ventura also contributed at bat. He went 3-3 with 2 RBI, 4 R, 2 BB. Luis Hanel Novas led Lions’ offense with 3 hits and 4 RBI, 3 R, 1 BB, 1 SB. Mario Dreiding, Carlos Reyes and Benjamin Kessler also combined 10 more RBIs to complete the KO for the Lions.
The second game was spiced up by the passing of the PC-7 team – an aerobatics team of the Swiss Air Force. The 9 Pilatus PC-7 trainers flew over Heerenschürli Ballpark in a perfect nine ship formation.

Zürcher Löwen vs Eagles

NLB-Spieltag: Luzern Eagles vs. Zürich Lions

Am vergangenen Samstag empfingen die Zurich Lions die Luzern Eagles für einen Double Header im Heerenschürli Ballpark.
Bei perfekt kühlem Wetter für Baseball (25 °C und teilweise bewölkt) rief der Umpire-in-chief Juan Francisco Robles zum „Play Ball!“.

Im ersten Inning nutzten die Eagles den Mangel an Pitching-Kontrolle von Lions. Ein Walk und zwei Hit-by-Pitches ermöglichten es den Eagles, zwei Runs nach Fielder’s choice mit zwei Grounded Outs zu erzielen.
Lions reagierten im zweiten Inning mit Back-to-Back-Hits von Benjamin Kessler und Carlos Reyes und aggressivem Baserunning, um zwei Runs zu erzielen und das Spiel auszugleichen.
Nelson Stevens, der Starting Pitcher der Lions, erlangte die Kontrolle über seine Pitches und ließ nur einen weiteren Run zu, um einen großartigen Start von 4 Innings (4,0 IP, 1 H, 3 ER, 4 BB, 1 SO) zu vollenden.
Am Ende des 4. Innings übernahmen die Lions die Führung. Sie erzielten drei Runs, beginnend mit zwei Hits von Emmanuel Mirabal und Nelson Stevens und Hit-by-Pitch von Markus Streicher. Ramon Rosario groundete ins aus auf Second und brachte Mirabal auf die Home-Plate. Mit zwei Outs singled Luis Hanel Novas Gil ins Center und Nelson und Markus erzielten den 4. und 5. Run für Lions.
Im 5. Inning kam Rafael Sanchez als Relief für Lions. Er erlaubte nur einen Run in drei Innings (3,0 IP, 2 H, 0 R, 1 ER, 0 BB, 2 SO) und verzeichnete sein erstes Saved Game der Saison. Die Lions gewannen 4-5.

Das zweite Spiel war der dritte KO-Sieg der Lions in dieser Saison. Dieses Mal erzielten die Lions 23 Runs, um die Eagles in 4 Innings zu KO. Anthony Ventura führte das Team mit einem guten Start (4,0 IP, 3 H, 3 ER, 1 BB, 6 SO) an und gewann sein drittes Spiel in dieser Saison. Ventura trug auch bei beim Schlagen. Er ging 3:3 mit 2 RBI, 4 R, 2 BB. Luis Hanel Novas führte die Offense der Lions mit 3 Hits und 4 RBI, 3 R, 1 BB, 1 SB an. Mario Dreiding, Carlos Reyes und Benjamin Kessler kombinierten außerdem 10 weitere RBIs, um das KO für die Lions zu vervollständigen.
Das zweite Spiel wurde durch das Passieren des Teams PC-7 – einer Kunstflugstaffel der Schweizer Luftwaffe – aufgepeppt. Die 9 Pilatus PC-7 Trainer flogen in einer perfekten Neunschiffsformation über den Heerenschürli Ballpark.