Game Day vs Truck Stars

Let’s go Lions, Let’s go!

A beautiful sunny Sunday framed the Lions home opening day for the 2021 NLB season.
Zurich Lions faced Dulliken Truck Star in a double header. Truck Star came back to NLB as the 2020 Liga 1 Champions.
With Mario Dreiding on the mount, the Truck Star surprised with aggressive base running and scored 2 runs in the very first inning. The Lions responded immediately with a rally of 7 runs, led by a 2-RBI single by Anthony Ventura and RBI hits by Benjamin Kessler, James Campbell and Esteban Finol.
At the top of the third inning, Dulliken ballplayers scored 3 runs to tighten the score.
Nelson Steven came as reliever for Lions and kept the opponent offense under control for 3 more innings.
Similarly, Truck’s star pitcher, Loris Vallan, sharpened his pitches and dried out the production of Lions’ offense with 11 strikeouts, including a memorable strikeout on Ramon Rosario.
What started as a potential double-digits score game became a pitchers’ duel and a boring game for the kids who came to cheer the Lions.
At the top of the last Inning, Truck Star tied the score to 7, setting the stage for the crowd to wake up and cheer the Zurich Lions for a potential walk-off.
Anthony Ventura opened the bottom of the 7th inning with a single and stole second. Steven Nelson walked, and Ramon Rosario was intentionally walked. With bases loaded and one out, the chant of “Let’s go Lions, let’s go” resounded like never in Heerenschürli. Michael Gränz grounded to SS and Truck Star’s shortstop perfectly executed the forced out in home plate. Then, with two outs and bases loaded, Loris Vallan tossed a wild pitch and Nelson Steven scored the winning run for the Lions.
It is very likely that the Truck Star’s pitcher lost the grasp of the ball. I prefer to believe that he could not stand the pressure that the chants of our kids put on him.
Thank you, little guys, for the good vibes.

The second game was a smoother win for the Lions. Inspired by a great pitching from Anthony Ventura (5.0 IP, 3 H, 2 ER, 3 BB, 9 SO), the Lions produced 14 runs to knock-out the TruckStar in 6 Innings. The offensive performance from Markus Streicher (4-5, 2 RBI, 2 R, 1 SB), Mario Dreiding (2-3, 3 RBI, 2 R, 2 BB), James Campbell (2-4, 2 RBI, 4 R, 1 BB, 1 SB) and Ramon Rosario (2-2, 2 RBI, 1 BB) were remarkable.

Some take-home messages:
• We have the best crowd in town!
• Zurich Lions do not give up (14 2-outs RBI in 13 innings).
• Lions need to improve our base-running (2 runners were caught stealing on scoring position and one Catcher-1B pick-off) and holding-on-base and picking-off runners (opponents reached 13 SB in 13 innings, only 1 CS).

Game Day vs Truck Stars

Let’s go Lions, Let’s go!

Ein schöner sonniger Sonntag umrahmte den Eröffnungstag der Lions für die NLB-Saison 2021.
Die Zürich Lions trafen in einem Double Header auf die Dulliken Truck Stars. Truck Star kehrte als Meister der 1. Liga 2020 in die NLB zurück.
Mit Mario Dreiding auf dem Mount überraschten die Truck Stars mit aggressivem Base Running und erzielte gleich im ersten Inning 2 Runs. Die Lions reagierten sofort mit einer Rally von 7 Runs, angeführt von einem 2-RBI-Single von Anthony Ventura und RBI-Hits von Benjamin Kessler, James Campbell und Esteban Finol.
Am Anfang des dritten Innings erzielten die Ballspieler von Dulliken 3 Runs, um die Punktzahl zu erhöhen.
Nelson Steven kam als Reliever für die Lions und hielt die gegnerische Offensive für 3 weitere Innings unter Kontrolle.
In ähnlicher Weise schärfte Trucks Star-Pitcher Loris Vallan seine Pitches und trocknete die Produktion der Lions-Offensive mit 11 Strikeouts aus, darunter ein denkwürdiger Strikeout gegen Ramon Rosario.
Was als potenziell zweistelliges Spiel begann, wurde zu einem Duell der Pitcher und zu einem langweiligen Spiel für die Kinder, die kamen, um die Lions anzufeuern.
Am Anfang des letzten Innings setzten die Truck Stars ihre Punktzahl auf 7 und bereitete so die Bühne, damit das Publikum aufwacht und die Zürich Lions für einen möglichen Walk-Off anfeuert.
Anthony Ventura eröffnete das Ende des 7. Innings mit einem Single und klaute die zweite Base. Steven Nelson wurde gewalked und Ramon Rosario wurde intentional walked. Mit bases loaded und ein Out ertönte der Gesang von „Let’s go Lions, let’s go“ wie noch nie im Heerenschürli. Michael Gränz groundete zu SS und der Shortstop von den Truck Stars führte das erzwungene Out in Homeplate perfekt aus. Dann, mit zwei Outs und Bases loaded, warf Loris Vallan einen wild Pitch und Nelson Steven erzielte den Winning Run für die Lions.
Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass der Pitcher der Truck Stars den Griff verloren hat. Ich glaube lieber, dass er dem Druck, den die Gesänge unserer Kinder auf ihn ausübten, nicht standhalten konnte.
Danke, kleine Leute, für die guten Vibes.

Das zweite Spiel verlief reibungsloser für die Lions. Inspiriert von einem großartigen Pitching von Anthony Ventura (5,0 IP, 3 H, 2 ER, 3 BB, 9 SO) produzierten die Lions 14 Runs, um die Truck Stars in 6 Innings auszuschalten. Die Offensivleistung von Markus Streicher (4-5, 2 RBI, 2 R, 1 SB), Mario Dreiding (2-3, 3 RBI, 2 R, 2 BB), James Campbell (2-4, 2 RBI, 4 R , 1 BB, 1 SB) und Ramon Rosario (2-2, 2 RBI, 1 BB) waren bemerkenswert.

Einige Botschaften zum Mitnehmen:
• Wir haben das beste Publikum der Stadt!
• Zürich Lions geben nicht auf (14 2-outs RBI in 13 Innings).
• Die Lions müssen das Base-Running verbessern (2 Läufer wurden beim Stehlen in scoring Position und ein Catcher-1B-Pick-off erwischt) und unsere holding-on-base- und Pick-offs der Läufer (Gegner erreichten 13 SB in 13 Innings, nur 1 CS.)